Thu, 05 Oct 2023

Tokyo [Japan], November 27 (ANI/Sputnik): The Japanese government has decided to impose restrictions on travel from Malawi, Mozambique and Zambia over the concern about the Omicron coronavirus strain, the Kyodo news agency reported on Saturday.

The country already restricted entry from Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Namibia and Botswana on Friday. Everyone arriving from these nations has to spend ten days in quarantine at specially designated facilities.

The World Health Organization (WHO) identified on Friday the new South African strain as one of concern, as it is reported to carry a high number of mutations -- 32 -- which possibly makes it more transmissible and dangerous. The WHO has dubbed it Omicron, the 15th letter of the Greek alphabet. (ANI/Sputnik)

More Zambia News

Access More

Sign up for Zambia News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!